Manage course tutors

Last modified by Carina Enke on 15.01.2024

Icon_Verantwortliche verwalten.pngYou can assign other users as co-owners of your resource. These users will then be able to edit and delete the learning resource. Co-owners can add, edit or delete content on their own.

If you want to assign more rights for a course resource to some selected users, but not all the rights of a course owner, you may use right groups to assign partial rights for individual areas.

Warning

A user must have author rights in order to be added as a resource owner.

A supplemetary video is available function.

 

 

Add course owners

To add an owner to a course or resource, proceed as follows:

Open "Manage course owners" dialogue

Open the relevant resource and click on the Manage course owners icon in the top right corner of the course view.

Kurs - Verantwortlichen öffnen_en.png

1

The Manage course owners dialogue opens.

Kurs - Verantwortlichen hinzufügen_en.png

2

Here you can use various search functions to add the desired user(s). In addition to the quick and advanced search, you also have the option to use the Import user list function.

Information
Inform users by email

When entering the platform, you are automatically informed of new ownerships via notification. However, if you would like to inform new course owners directly by email about the ownership, please use the advanced search or the user list import to add them. Here you can use an optional email function directly when assigning the user.

3

The added owner(s) will first be listed in the Invited course owners table. The next time they log in, they will automatically receive a notification message in the news area. Only upon accepting this invitation will they be listed as the owner of the resource and granted the corresponding administrative rights.

 

The invitation will be displayed to potential owners in different places, depending on the interface used.

Where to find the invitation ...

To access your notifications, you have three options:

Option 1: Quick Access

Desktop

Mobile

Click on the circle icon next to your user name in the desktop view to open the quick overview of your notifications.

On mobile devices, the quick access is marked by a bell symbol.

Startseite-Schnellzugang Neuigkeiten_en.png

Startseite-Schnellzugang Neuigkeiten_mobil_de.png

An overview opens displaying the latest news and invitations which are stored for you in the system.

Click on a news item or on the arrow behind the notification to access the content directly.

Some notifications will require action from you. For invitations, for example, the buttons Agree and Disagree will show up. System messages can be marked as read via the OK button. Invitations contain a direct link to the corresponding resource so that you can verify it before confirming the invitation.

To close the opened notification area, click again on the circle icon.

Startseite - Neuigkeiten geöffnet_en.png

(There are no differences between the desktop and the mobile view)

Option 2: News area

Desktop

Mobile

A larger view of all notifications is available in the area News. To open it, click on the down arrow right next to your name in the header area of the desktop view. Select the entry News from the drop-down list.

On a mobile device, open the main navigation at the top left and select the entry Notifications.

 

Einstellungen - Neuigkeiten öffnen_en.png

Startseite-Menü Benachrichtigungen_en.png

A new News window opens. In the desktop view, you will see several tabs. In the mobile view, you will only see the news.

Overview

This sections contains all relevant invitations and news in list form.

Information

Use the bulk actions Accept all and mark as read or Mark as read and Mark all as read to process multiple notifications quickly and efficiently.

Manage subscriptions

This tab lists all of your existing subscriptions in the system and allows for their management, as will be described in the following section.

RSS Feed

Here, you can generate and manage your own RSS link. For further information, please refer to the page RSS Feed.

Einstellungen-Neuigkeiten geöffnet_en.png

Einstellungen-Neuigkeiten geöffnet_mobil_en.png

Option 3: Directly in the course

Desktop

Mobile

If you have been invited as a supervisor, you will receive a notification message immediately after the course opens. Click the ‘Accept’ button at the end of the message to confirm the invitation, or ‘Decline’ to refuse the invitation. You can use the name of the person who invited you to get in touch if you need to discuss matters beforehand.

Kursrun - Einladung Kursverantwortliche_de.pngKursrun - Einladung Kursverantwortliche_mobil_de.png
 

 

Change order of displayed course owners

With the help of the small arrow icons in the Actions column, you can manually change the order of the course owners. The positioning in the table refers to the order of persons in listings, for instance in the course view, catalogue or search results.

Kursansicht - Verantwortliche des Kurses_de.png

Dialog - Verantwortliche verwalten_de.png

Edit a course owner's visibility

It is not always desirable that users can see all course owners. For example, there may be technical course owners with the right to edit the course and course owners responsible for the course content who should be displayed to learners in the course and search results.

Adjust a course owner's visibility as follows:

Open the relevant resource and click on the Manage course owners icon in the top right corner of the course view. The Manage course owners dialogue opens.

Kurs - Einstellungen_en.png

In the Show column, you can set or reset the visibility of course owners by clicking on the eye icon.

Users who have been set to "not visible" will no longer be displayed in the course view and list views.

Information

Some lists, such as the course catalogue in the course offerings area, are cached by the system for a configured time interval and thus not reinitialised each time they are opened. In other words, a change in the visibility of course owners will not be effective until the next initialisation process.

 

Kurs- Sichtbarkeit Verantwortliche_en.png

 

Remove course owners

To remove a course owner, proceed as follows:

1

Open the relevant resource and click on the Manage course owners icon in the top right corner of the course view. The Manage course owners dialogue opens.

Kurs - Verantwortlichen entfernen_en.png

2

Select the checkbox next to the corresponding username.

3

Click on the Cancel membership button with the trash can icon in the table header.

4

This opens a dialogue to confirm the action.

5

Optionally, you can also send a message to the corresponding users.

6

Complete the deletion process with Cancel membership.